top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTammy Hamlin

Sweet Tooth

Updated: May 19, 2023



Just another night of being ill prepared for what was going to happen next. A hectic day, followed by a great meal, and topped off with a Netflix binge. What do you need to go along with any binge watching session.....SNACKS. Both my husband and I were in the mood for something sweet. Being that we are almost empt-nesters, because are kids are either grown or away at college, we had no pre-made sweet snacks. There is no time or energy left to make a decadent dessert from scratch. One can only do what we do best in our phone driven society, I googled "quick desserts". Scrolling until one recipe title caught my eye. CHOCOLATE COFFEE MUG CAKE!


Reading through the recipe I became excited. First, because chocolate is my favorite. Second, because at first glance I knew I had all the ingredients in my pantry. Lastly, this was just the right portion to satisfy the craving without a chance that either one of us would over do it by eating too much.




This little cutie became very popular in my house. One night I was quietly making one while my kids were home from school. The smell hit the next room, and the requests to have one made began to pour in. So now I have to make three more, sigh. I became irritated and began to think of a way that I could prep and store the dry ingredients. Even though it's a simple recipe, it's time consuming when you have to make more than one.



While at my local restaurant supply store, I found these cute little containers for only 59 cents each. Just enough to tuck away some dry ingredients. Now all I have to do is pop the lid, add the dry ingredients to a mug, add liquid ingredients, stir, and cook. Oh joy! Another way to simplify my life.


If you're crafty like me, watch for another post of how to turn this into a great gifting idea. Cant wait for Christmas!


Try this tonight and tell me if it doesnt quiet down your sweet tooth.



DRY INGREDIENTS


3 tablespoons flour

3 tablespoons sugar

2 tablespoons cocoa powder

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

Pinch of salt


LIQUIDS INGREDIENTS


3 tablespoons milk

3 tablespoons vegetable oil

Splash of vanilla extract - OPTIONAL


You can add 2-3 tablespoons of chocolate chips to the top for an over the moon chocolate lovers dream.


Microwave for 90 seconds.


This cake will be moist and delicious.


Send pics of your cake in your craziest mug and I will add you to this post dininganddevotion@gmail.com


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Country Chicken Bowl

Country Chicken Bowl Gather together all ingredients you will need. This saves time and makes the process smoother. I even go as far as to separate my ingredients per step. I’d rather spend the time i

Post: Blog2_Post

©2019 by Dining and Devotion. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page